Progress Report – 2 Weeks into a Schedule

cropped-banner-3.jpg

We’ve Certainly Been Busy!

I wanted to take a moment to talk about the recent changes made here at Jon Spencer Reviews. If you follow me on Twitter (@JS_Reviews), then you may have heard that I switched to a regular posting schedule. We are two weeks into that now, but some of you may be wondering what changed.

The first change is the switch to a posting schedule. Previously, I had a no-schedule approach but now that I’m done with University and have some plans for the site moving forward, a schedule makes sense. Main posts will now be put up on the site Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11AM PST. Content may still occasionally come out Tuesday, Thursday, or over the weekend from me as it has during these two weeks.

Additionally, we’ve gained a new contributor, Frank! He will have weekly postings every Tuesday which have already started. If you haven’t already, go and say hi! He’ll be doing some music reviews (and sometimes other things). I think you may just be pleasantly surprised.

Jacob will still be doing film reviews but his posting schedule is NOT fixed like Frank’s or for myself. Since Jacob covers a lot of films that are in theatres, it just isn’t practical to place restrictions on when his content can go up. He is also planning to possibly cover less recent films as well, but again, those will be posted when he sees fit.

I hope you all have been enjoying my increased activity here and on the various social media platforms. This should continue moving forward for the foreseeable future. With that said, let’s briefly discuss what else is new.

Some of you may have noticed that I updated the site some. I created a new “Film” menu for the site header. Additionally, I am now using a new and improved version of the theme I had been using earlier. This means that some stuff should look cleaner on the main page and when viewing.

A major change you should have already noticed is the site’s new banner for social media accounts. It was created by follower DaBoogie (check out his blog here). I greatly appreciate it! The new banner is so much better than the boring and plain grey triangle thing I was using before. I’ve been playing with a way to add it to the site as well, so hopefully that works out. I’ll be using it a lot for promotional material and a few other things, like these updates.

One change you should notice pretty quick is that the author now has a little bio that appears at the end of each article. There was some confusion about the fact that I have multiple authors on here and I want their work to be credited to them, not myself.

Next week’s articles are all scheduled, except for Friday’s, which still needs a bit of work. I hope you’ll be ready for everything I’ve got planned! That’s it for me, see you back here again soon!

Without continual growth and progress, such words as improvement, achievement, and success have no meaning. -Benjamin Franklin

7 thoughts on “Progress Report – 2 Weeks into a Schedule

What'd you think?

