Anime ABC’s H Resaults

The Best Turn Out Yet!

Wow! We’ve had a big surge in interaction on the site lately and the voting for this round of Anime ABC’s was no exception. We had a total of 25 votes cast this go around, smashing the previous record of 14. Thanks for helping this series get even bigger! This round’s winner is…

A tie?!? AGAIN?!?

This time we had a tie between Hunter x Hunter (2011) and crowd favorite Hai to Gensou no Grimgar. I’ll be deciding this tie with a battle to the death! Ready challengers? Begin!

Grimgar gingerly steps into the arena but is welcomed by a thunderous applause from the crowd! Hunter x Hunter strides confidently into the arena and is met with almost equal fervor. Tension is high in the air until Hunter x Hunter makes the opening move. Dashing toward Grimgar, Hunter x Hunter lands in early strike but things are just getting started folks!

Grimgar stagers but quickly realizes that this is a life-or-death struggle and manages to gather itself. However, Grimgar isn’t quite fast enough to land any of its next few attacks with its dagger. Thinking quickly, Grimgar switches tactics to archery. Hunter x Hunter continues to dash in and out with frightening ability, landing hit after hit. Grimgar just isn’t giving up though! Firing a mad volley of arrows, Grimgar manages to cripple Hunter x Hunter with a critical strike to the leg! Now on more equal footing, the true fight begins!

Both sides are starting to feel a bit tired but continue to exchange physical and verbal blows. “Your recap episodes are stupid!” Grimgar shouts at Hunter x Hunter as it jabs its dagger into Hunter x Hunter’s side. “Oh yeah, well at least I’m higher rated on MAL!” Hunter x Hunter retorts, spitting some blood from its mouth. It’s nearly over.

Taking advantage of the primal struggle, Grimgar emerges victorious as it plows its dagger one last time into Hunter x Hunter. The crowd explodes as the announcer relays, “Ladies and Gentlemen, we have a new champion tonight-Grimgar!

I don’t really know why I did that, hopefully you though it was kind of silly or amusing. Thought it was a bit more fun than just saying, “Grimgar wins.” I’d be a real dummy not to pick that one given I gave the tie breaker to Gunslinger Girl last time.

This will take me a little bit to get to. I need to rewatch Grimgar and take specific notes about certain events in the show that I want to talk about. In the meantime, look forward to my Monday, Wednesday, Friday release schedule as well as my new contributor Frank’s Tuesday music review releases. Of course, check out the backlog of ABC reviews if you haven’t already or consider looking around at the other reviews and discussions we’ve done here at Jon Spencer Reviews.

Like always, here is an in-depth look at how the votes turned out:

Widget_710122071205

Widget_797320946747
Other:  Hyoka & Hakuouki Shinsengumi Kitan/ Hakuouki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom 

I also asked a few other questions for my benefit, but I thought I’d share the most interesting result with you here. This graph displays how many time people have participated in voting for Anime ABC’s during each of the 8 times thus far. Unsurprisingly, we had a lot of new people and a fair amount of constant voters. The middle groups were about as expected. This is how we want to see this graph looking 🙂

Widget_943960423487.png

9 thoughts on “Anime ABC’s H Resaults

  1. That was a funny battle. I’m not familiar with Grimgar, so I’d like to see your review on it. I find it crazy how popular the Hunter X Hunter franchise has become since I remember watching the original series and reading the manga over a decade ago. Wow, I feel like a hipster saying that. Hahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

      You’ll have to wait a bit to hear my thoughts on Grimgar but HXH really has exploded! To be fair though, it is pretty great. How was the manga? Never read it myself.

      Like

      1. No problem.

        That’s fine. The popularity of HXH is astounding. I haven’t read the whole manga, but it’s good despite the simplistic art (especially the first few volumes). The original anime only went up to the Greed Island arc, but I thought the animation while aged was above average. I do admit that it is surreal watching the original series and noticing that Gon’s original VA is Junko Takeuchi who would eventually voice Naruto.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Nice, sounds pretty good. Have you seen any of the 2011 series? I’ve seen the first 26 and was pretty into it. Put it on hold though. Was watching it dubbed but moved around during part of its air time so missed a bunch of episodes.

          Like

What'd you think?

