13 Reasons Why – Mini Review

Questionable Decisions, Cautiously Enjoyable

This is an adapted and edited re-upload of a review featured in an update awhile back

mv5bytfmnzrlnwytmmfmni00ztfilwjhodgtogm5odq5ntgxzwuwl2ltywdlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymtexndq2mti-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_I could probably do a full write up on 13 Reasons Why and how it is problematic but there are already a lot of posts out there about it. Instead, here are just a few of my quick thoughts on the Netflix original series.

13 Reasons Why creates an initial mystery that is compelling but quickly fizzles out by the end. A lot of this comes down to poor directorial decisions and sloppy writing in its second half. The show also handled a lot of its subject matter irresponsibly. This series really glorifies suicide and the creators (whom went out of their way to ask questions about what they should and should not do from experts) did just about everything that they shouldn’t for what they chose to show on screen.

As I mentioned at the start of this article, there’s a lot on this series already floating on the internet. Take a few seconds to explore that on your own if you want to know more about that specific issue. For me, the real nail in the coffin was the ending. Netflix, pleases, stop leaving all of your stuff on sequel hooks. It’s ok to finish a show. 13 Reasons Why should be getting a second season but still!

I want to note that while I didn’t like the show overall, I think parts of it were pretty good. Like I said, the start of the show was excellent. There were also some fairly humorous/interesting scenes regarding Clay’s anxiety induced hallucinations but in terms of enjoyment, that was about it for me. What season one left unresolved actually has me a bit interested so I’ll likely check out season 2, albeit a bit tentatively.

I wouldn’t watch this if you are at risk of suicide, since it is going to make things worse. Also, some triggering topics for many in here as well. Just a heads up on that. I think that this show started a conversation, but in a irresponsible way. I wouldn’t recommend it outside of discussion purposes and only if you are prepared for the depicted material.

2 thoughts on “13 Reasons Why – Mini Review

  1. As you said, there’s been a lot of talk about the series already. I haven’t yet watched it given I have a lot of anime on my watch list, but I’m thinking I’m going to pick a rainy weekend and binge this at some point and when I do I think I’m going to need some chocolate and a hug once I’m finished.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it.

    Liked by 1 person

What'd you think?

