My Latest Obssession – A Look at RimWorld

Everything Was Great, Until Somebody Got the Flu… (Spoilers, They All Died)

Remember Dwarf Fortress? Remember how tough as nails it was? Sure would be great if that were on Steam but that’s not what I wanted to talk about today. Instead, I’ll be looking at RimWorld, a game that feels a lot like Dwarf Fortress in Early Access on Steam.

I’ll admit that at first glance I was immediately disinterested in the game. RimWorld looked too much like Prison Architect and pretty boring for what was supposed to be a survival focused base building game. So I gave it a pass despite all the praise the game was getting, it just didn’t seem like something for me.

However, this changed when I happened across a YouTuber I had never heard of before. His channel name is Quill18 and I came across him looking for gameplay of Urban Empire. After watching his play through of that, and eventually picking up Urban Empire as a result, I decided to see what else he had on his channel.

That’s when I came across this video:

Not affiliated with Quill18, just wanted to give him a shout-out and say thanks for turning me on to a few super fun games!

He sold me the game right then and there. I would have never given RimWorld the time of day before but I sure am glad that I did, and all thanks to a single video. For those who don’t know, I’m somebody who knows their own taste well and for my opinion of something to be so dramatically changed is no small feat.

Long-story-short, I bought RimWorld and have a great time with it ever since. To really get a grasp of how the game is, I encourage giving the video a watch, but my earlier Dwarf Fortress comparison is just as accurate. The game is unforgiving and loves punishing players whenever possible. The example I used earlier, everyone getting the flu and dying, happened in my first game not even an hour in. It was brutal.

Naturally, the game does feature easier difficulty settings that make the game more of a sandbox base building game, which is fun on occasion, but the true game is in the harder difficulties. For review purposes, I have been playing on the “some challenge” difficulty (basically normal) but would recommend bumping the difficulty up at least one more level to really experience the game.

One feature that ties into the difficulty that I really enjoy, is the “story teller” setting. Each game you can choose between one of three story tellers that influence the nature of random events. One teller gradually increases difficulty as time goes by, the next spaces events far apart from each other but at semi-random difficulty, and the last teller will assault you and then tell you to keep the change after.

Beyond this, each game can be played as a custom scenario with hand picked starting equipment and people or as a pre-made scenario with randomly generated colonists. Both offer a lot of fun depending on how you feel like playing.

The pawns, or colonists, in RimWorld are how players accomplish tasks. Of course, you have to keep them happy in order to stay productive. Each pawn has its own skillset along with other modifiers that makes each game unique. There is way more depth here than I can realistically get into, but I wanted to make sure to at least mention it and say that I enjoy this aspect of the game quite a bit.

ss_8dfed1fd659a608f3556bfccaaf9ef49bf594222-600x338
An example of a BIG base

 

RimWorld is still in Early Access on Steam so the game is evolving. Currently, the game feels pretty fantastic and I’m excited to see what the devs have in store for future builds. Even if the game got abandoned, there is plenty of content for players to enjoy as is. I’ve sunk over 20 hours into the game and haven’t even experienced a good portion of the content.

If I had any major complaints about the game right now, it would be that some seemingly basic features are missing (like being able to convert worn clothes back down to partial base components) and short-circuit events happen a bit too often. Thankfully, the mod scene is fantastic and the devs do pay attention to it. In the current build, some mod features are now in the vanilla game so I suspect most of these issues will be ironed out as time goes by.

If RimWorld sounds interesting to you, the game can be found on Steam for $29.99 or your regional equivalent. The price is very fair, despite seeming steep. There is a lot of content to enjoy here. Additionally, there are some other pricing tiers I you want to support the game’s development. Personally, not really interested but they are on the store page if you want to check them out.

Fair warning, this is the kind of game that will have you saying, “Just five more minutes…”


 

Have you played RimWorld? Let me know your thoughts on it, or the article in the comments below. Be sure to leave a like/share if you enjoyed the article or found it helpful. This lets me know I’m doing a good job and makes you an awesome person for showing your support! Lastly, consider following the blog here to keep up with all the latest happenings. Hope to see you back around here soon!

-Jon Spencer

What'd you think?

