School-Live! – More Than Meets The Eye

There’s More to School-Live! Than Just Slice of Life

Not too long ago I got around to watching School-Live! and I’ve got to say, even knowing it wasn’t your run of the mill slice of life show, it still managed to spring more surprises on me than I could have ever expected. Originally airing in 2015, Gakkougurashi!, or School-Live! in English, is a treat for long-time anime watchers and newcomers alike.

School-Live! is about a group of girls and their teacher who are members of the School Living Club, who’s members live at school. The story follows Yuki, Yuuri, Kurimi, Miki, their teacher Megumi, and their dog, Taroumaru as they make the most of school life. The series follows the attics of the girls but with one major twist! What exactly is that twist? You’ll just have to watch to find out.

b719d928ed252b33baf08acedb0eb66eaa7a4721_hq
Cast From Left to Right:  Megumi, Taroumaru, Yuuri, Yuki, Kurimi, and Miki

 

Even if you aren’t a big slice of life fan, this show is still for you. However, School-Live! is one of those anime where the less you know ahead of time, the better it is. Since I don’t want to spoil anything, I’ll just get right to my recommendation: 

School-Live! is a solid 9/10 with a Seal of Excellence recommendation. This recommendation is for shows that I consider to be must-sees for their particular genre and shouldn’t be skipped. Watch the first episode in full before deciding whether or not to keep going, after that you’ll know if you want to keep watching or not. I would recommend watching the OP & ED for this one every episode, trust me. Lastly, some people found issue with the ending, but so long as you pay attention when you watch, it makes perfect sense. Sentai Filmworks has licensed this show but no release information to date (8/23/16). However, you can watch the show in its entirety subbed over at Crunchyroll.com absolutely free (and legally).

That’s it for this one. I know it’s a bit brief, but I wanted to give some exposure to a show I really enjoyed. Go watch it already and let me know if you enjoyed it or not. Please don’t spoil any part of the show in the comments though, it’ll ruin some of the magic for those who haven’t seen it if you do.

What'd you think?

