How Reviews & Recomendations Work

Overview

For my anime reviews, you may have noticed that I give a score and some sort of recommendation at the end. However, some people may not know what these ratings and recommendations mean. The purpose of this is to make things more clear for those who were curious.

Ratings

I rate anime on a scale of 1-10, 1 being absolutely dreadful, while 10 being nearly perfect. The difference between these ratings is a factor of enjoyment level, production value, and story elements (characters, depth-story, etc…). This rating is mostly for an at-a-glance grade and shouldn’t be taken on its own. For this reason, I also include a recommendation scale.

Recommendations

I recommend anime immediately following the rating based on a scale:

  • Pass:  It’s exactly what it sounds like, give the anime a pass. Shows with this recommendation aren’t good.
  • Try:  Watch a couple of episodes and then make your judgment. Shows with this recommendation aren’t bad, but may not be what everyone is looking for.
  • Buy:  I think the anime is worth owning and adding to your collection at some point it time. As a rule, I own pretty much everything I will ever review or recommend when possible.
  • Seal of Excellence:  Saved for shows that I consider to be the best-of-the-best. They belong in any collection and should take priority over other titles. In the case of a show being unavailable (at least in the US), I will let you know.

Closing Thoughts

That’s pretty much how reviews and recommendations work. Nothing too fancy. In any case, I always follow both the rating and review with my reasoning for it. If you don’t agree, that’s fine, since this is my opinion after all. Hopefully, this made the rating and recommendation system more clear. If you have any other questions feel free to email me at jonspencerreviews@gmail.com or post a comment below.

What'd you think?

